Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
Top

Nation of bookworms; authors, librarian and academic are the UK's three most desirable jobs

writer.jpg

In today's world of selfies and self-applauding status updates, it would be easy to assume that we're all after jobs that bring us money and fame.

But a new YouGov study has revealed a surprisingly scholastic angle to the nation's career ambitions.

The survey of just over 14,000 people aged 18 upwards revealed Britain's top most desirable vocations to be author, librarian and academic.

Proving we really are a community of book-lovers, 60% of us want to be a writer, in the vein of JK Rowling and EL James. 

Librarian

A librarian; one of the UK's most desirable jobs

A further 54% want to be librarians, and 51% of us wish we were an academic; both bookish professions that are not known for either their glamour or a hefty paycheck. 

More conventional jobs, including lawyer, doctor and journalist, come next on the list, while perhaps unsurprisingly, traffic warden and call centre worker end up bottom of the pile.

But seemingly exciting career options - such as movie star and model - languish around the midway point, with more people wanting to be an accountant, a train driver or a teacher.

Britain's most desirable jobs: 

YouGov

YouGov quizzed 14,294 people at the beginning of this year for the study. Participants were shown a random list of career choices and asked to rank what they would like and not like to do for a living.

The survey picked up something of a gender variation in job appeal, with women tending towards jobs in interior design, libraries and academia, and men drawn to the concept of being an astronaut and a Formula 1 driver: 

The UK's most desirable jobs - gender variation: 

survey

The National Careers Service puts a librarian's average annual wage at £19,500 per year and  says the job would be perfect "if you are organised, like working with people, and are enthusiastic about the value of information and knowledge".

The same organisation lists the average wage and hours of a writer as "variable" and advises that "you’ll need to come up with ideas that appeal to your audience and sell well. You will also need to work well on your own and have the resilience to deal with critics, publishers and employers who will have opinions on your work".

Meanwhile, changes in funding for university research means that full-time, permanent positions in academia are increasingly hard to come by

All three jobs suit people who are able to work well on their own and have an aptitude for processing lots of diverse information in a short period of time. 

JK Rowling, one of the UK's most successful and prolific writers, says that aspiring authors should prepare themselves for the fact that a good story takes time to formulate.

"You have to resign yourself to the fact that you waste a lot of trees before you write anything you really like, and that’s just the way it is," she says. "It’s like learning an instrument, you’ve got to be prepared for hitting wrong notes occasionally, or quite a lot, cause I wrote an awful lot before I wrote anything I was really happy with."

See more writing tips here

What do you think? Do these survey results ring true for you? And if not, what kind of job appeals most to you, and why? Let us know in the comments section below

Photos: Rex Features

Related

163925545.jpg

The 10 most common causes of relationship strain revealed

jk-rowling-hero-2.jpg

The most endearing and charming letters from famous authors to fans

rexfeatures_451081d.jpg

The 20 most erotic moments in the history of cinema

Freya-North-Author-Photo.jpg

Freya North's writing tips

Claudia Hero.jpg

How quitting changed our lives for the better

graduate.jpg

Women's top regrets include having an affair and not trying at school

More

The deadly secret hidden within that creepy Game of Thrones hug

Spoilers are coming…

by Kayleigh Dray
18 Aug 2017

Why it’s totally fine if you don’t have a ‘work wife’

Having friends at work is nice – but it’s not the be all and end all

by Moya Crockett
18 Aug 2017

Meteorologist’s epic response to troll who called her “disgusting”

“Enough is enough.”

by Sarah Biddlecombe
18 Aug 2017

Acts of love, humanity and solidarity following the Barcelona attack

In the darkness, there is light.

by Moya Crockett
18 Aug 2017

How you can help those caught up in the Barcelona attack

The ways you can support the victims, survivors and investigation

by Kayleigh Dray
18 Aug 2017

People are furious about Trump’s response to the Barcelona attack

The world is sick of his double-standard on terrorism

by Kayleigh Dray
18 Aug 2017

Ryan Phillipe on how he tackles depression

“I’m thinking about how to focus and steady myself”

by Susan Devaney
17 Aug 2017

Are black girls being forced to grow up too fast?

A study has shown that black girls as young as five are seen as more adult than their white peers

by Kemi Alemoru
17 Aug 2017

Teen receives sickening messages after asking for career advice

This businessman's response was shocking

by Sarah Biddlecombe
17 Aug 2017

We want everything from this new high-street Disney collaboration

Seriously magical

by Megan Murray
17 Aug 2017