Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
Top

Nation of bookworms; authors, librarian and academic are the UK's three most desirable jobs

writer.jpg

In today's world of selfies and self-applauding status updates, it would be easy to assume that we're all after jobs that bring us money and fame.

But a new YouGov study has revealed a surprisingly scholastic angle to the nation's career ambitions.

The survey of just over 14,000 people aged 18 upwards revealed Britain's top most desirable vocations to be author, librarian and academic.

Proving we really are a community of book-lovers, 60% of us want to be a writer, in the vein of JK Rowling and EL James. 

Librarian

A librarian; one of the UK's most desirable jobs

A further 54% want to be librarians, and 51% of us wish we were an academic; both bookish professions that are not known for either their glamour or a hefty paycheck. 

More conventional jobs, including lawyer, doctor and journalist, come next on the list, while perhaps unsurprisingly, traffic warden and call centre worker end up bottom of the pile.

But seemingly exciting career options - such as movie star and model - languish around the midway point, with more people wanting to be an accountant, a train driver or a teacher.

Britain's most desirable jobs: 

YouGov

YouGov quizzed 14,294 people at the beginning of this year for the study. Participants were shown a random list of career choices and asked to rank what they would like and not like to do for a living.

The survey picked up something of a gender variation in job appeal, with women tending towards jobs in interior design, libraries and academia, and men drawn to the concept of being an astronaut and a Formula 1 driver: 

The UK's most desirable jobs - gender variation: 

survey

The National Careers Service puts a librarian's average annual wage at £19,500 per year and  says the job would be perfect "if you are organised, like working with people, and are enthusiastic about the value of information and knowledge".

The same organisation lists the average wage and hours of a writer as "variable" and advises that "you’ll need to come up with ideas that appeal to your audience and sell well. You will also need to work well on your own and have the resilience to deal with critics, publishers and employers who will have opinions on your work".

Meanwhile, changes in funding for university research means that full-time, permanent positions in academia are increasingly hard to come by

All three jobs suit people who are able to work well on their own and have an aptitude for processing lots of diverse information in a short period of time. 

JK Rowling, one of the UK's most successful and prolific writers, says that aspiring authors should prepare themselves for the fact that a good story takes time to formulate.

"You have to resign yourself to the fact that you waste a lot of trees before you write anything you really like, and that’s just the way it is," she says. "It’s like learning an instrument, you’ve got to be prepared for hitting wrong notes occasionally, or quite a lot, cause I wrote an awful lot before I wrote anything I was really happy with."

See more writing tips here

What do you think? Do these survey results ring true for you? And if not, what kind of job appeals most to you, and why? Let us know in the comments section below

Photos: Rex Features

Related

163925545.jpg

The 10 most common causes of relationship strain revealed

jk-rowling-hero-2.jpg

The most endearing and charming letters from famous authors to fans

rexfeatures_451081d.jpg

The 20 most erotic moments in the history of cinema

Freya-North-Author-Photo.jpg

Freya North's writing tips

Claudia Hero.jpg

How quitting changed our lives for the better

graduate.jpg

Women's top regrets include having an affair and not trying at school

Comments

More

22 Christmas cocktail recipes to jingle your bells

Boozy mince pie freakshake, anyone?

by Amy Swales
09 Dec 2016

Revealed: the gender pay gap for every industry in the UK

How much less do you earn than your male colleagues?

by Sarah Biddlecombe
09 Dec 2016

Experts have revealed the ultimate hangover cure

There’s just one catch…

by Kayleigh Dray
09 Dec 2016

Gigi Hadid opens up about ‘empowering’ decision to quit social media

“The world feels so entitled to other peoples’ lives”

by Kayleigh Dray
09 Dec 2016

This is how Bake Off will change when it moves to Channel 4

From the horse (aka Paul Hollywood)’s mouth itself…

by Kayleigh Dray
08 Dec 2016

Are you the youngest in your family? We have good news for you…

Experts have revealed the surprising trait that all little brothers and sisters share

by Kayleigh Dray
08 Dec 2016

Meet the all-female anti-poaching team saving rhinos in South Africa

Jessica Chastain is set to produce a film about their story.

by Moya Crockett
08 Dec 2016

New-look Baywatch is all about chests, not breasts

But is it really any better... ?

by Kayleigh Dray
08 Dec 2016

Cheers! You can now grow your own Prosecco at home

This could be dangerous...

by Moya Crockett
08 Dec 2016

Is Kim Cattrall already filming a Samantha SATC spin-off?

“Channelling Ms Samantha Jones once again…”

by Kayleigh Dray
08 Dec 2016