Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
Top

Nation of bookworms; authors, librarian and academic are the UK's three most desirable jobs

writer.jpg

In today's world of selfies and self-applauding status updates, it would be easy to assume that we're all after jobs that bring us money and fame.

But a new YouGov study has revealed a surprisingly scholastic angle to the nation's career ambitions.

The survey of just over 14,000 people aged 18 upwards revealed Britain's top most desirable vocations to be author, librarian and academic.

Proving we really are a community of book-lovers, 60% of us want to be a writer, in the vein of JK Rowling and EL James. 

Librarian

A librarian; one of the UK's most desirable jobs

A further 54% want to be librarians, and 51% of us wish we were an academic; both bookish professions that are not known for either their glamour or a hefty paycheck. 

More conventional jobs, including lawyer, doctor and journalist, come next on the list, while perhaps unsurprisingly, traffic warden and call centre worker end up bottom of the pile.

But seemingly exciting career options - such as movie star and model - languish around the midway point, with more people wanting to be an accountant, a train driver or a teacher.

Britain's most desirable jobs: 

YouGov

YouGov quizzed 14,294 people at the beginning of this year for the study. Participants were shown a random list of career choices and asked to rank what they would like and not like to do for a living.

The survey picked up something of a gender variation in job appeal, with women tending towards jobs in interior design, libraries and academia, and men drawn to the concept of being an astronaut and a Formula 1 driver: 

The UK's most desirable jobs - gender variation: 

survey

The National Careers Service puts a librarian's average annual wage at £19,500 per year and  says the job would be perfect "if you are organised, like working with people, and are enthusiastic about the value of information and knowledge".

The same organisation lists the average wage and hours of a writer as "variable" and advises that "you’ll need to come up with ideas that appeal to your audience and sell well. You will also need to work well on your own and have the resilience to deal with critics, publishers and employers who will have opinions on your work".

Meanwhile, changes in funding for university research means that full-time, permanent positions in academia are increasingly hard to come by

All three jobs suit people who are able to work well on their own and have an aptitude for processing lots of diverse information in a short period of time. 

JK Rowling, one of the UK's most successful and prolific writers, says that aspiring authors should prepare themselves for the fact that a good story takes time to formulate.

"You have to resign yourself to the fact that you waste a lot of trees before you write anything you really like, and that’s just the way it is," she says. "It’s like learning an instrument, you’ve got to be prepared for hitting wrong notes occasionally, or quite a lot, cause I wrote an awful lot before I wrote anything I was really happy with."

See more writing tips here

What do you think? Do these survey results ring true for you? And if not, what kind of job appeals most to you, and why? Let us know in the comments section below

Photos: Rex Features

Related

163925545.jpg

The 10 most common causes of relationship strain revealed

jk-rowling-hero-2.jpg

The most endearing and charming letters from famous authors to fans

rexfeatures_451081d.jpg

The 20 most erotic moments in the history of cinema

Freya-North-Author-Photo.jpg

Freya North's writing tips

Claudia Hero.jpg

How quitting changed our lives for the better

graduate.jpg

Women's top regrets include having an affair and not trying at school

Comments

More

The rising stars of food and drink making waves in 2017

Load up your palettes with purple food and Mexican spirit

by Amy Swales
23 Feb 2017

Stop what you're doing and try these Crème scotch eggs

They’re a chocoholic’s dream come true…

by Kayleigh Dray
23 Feb 2017

Why you’ll be seeing red X’s everywhere on Facebook today

It’s all to raise awareness of modern-day slavery.

by Moya Crockett
23 Feb 2017

Five ways to get on top of your decision anxiety

A hypnotherapist explains.

23 Feb 2017

Secret Life of Five Year Olds: The incredible life lessons we learned

From feminism to single-shaming

by Kayleigh Dray
22 Feb 2017

Are you ready for the ultimate gin and gingerbread masterclass?

Lessons take place in a luxury spa, if that helps to seal the deal…

by Kayleigh Dray
22 Feb 2017

This is officially the best place to live in the UK

And, surprise surprise, it isn’t London…

by Kayleigh Dray
22 Feb 2017

This Is Us star asks viewers to reach out to lost loved ones

“Tomorrow is not promised”

by Kayleigh Dray
22 Feb 2017

Inside the bar where men aren't allowed to approach women

"If a gentleman is lucky enough to be approached by a lady, he speaks to her as if he would speak to his mother”

by Sarah Biddlecombe
22 Feb 2017

Everything you need to know about growing your own vegetables

(Even if you don't have loads of space)

by Sarah Biddlecombe
21 Feb 2017