Sarah Biddlecombe

Sarah Biddlecombe is an award-winning journalist and Digital Commissioning Editor at Stylist. Follow her on Twitter

  • jada sezer
    Long Reads

    Grief and loss: “This is what grief taught me about my inner strength”

  • Long Reads

    Could Instagram be affecting your memory?

  • recycle clothes bin near me
    Fashion

    How to recycle your clothes: everything you need to know

Latest Stories

mental health at work
Long Reads

How to talk to your manager about your mental health in the workplace

80% of UK adults feel uncomfortable talking to our managers about our mental health. Let's make this difficult conversation easier.

Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published
best feminist books
Books

The most empowering feminist books: 35 women pick their favourite reads

Including book recommendations from Maggie O’Farrell, JoJo Moyes and Sophie Kinsella.

Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published
postnatal depression symptoms
Long Reads

Postnatal depression: 4 women on how it really feels to live with the condition

“In public, I put on my best face. In private, I cried and screamed.”

Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published
the recovery of rose gold stephanie wrobel
Books

Exclusive: read the first chapters of 2020’s biggest thriller

Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Recovery of Rose Gold is next year's biggest and most spine-chilling thriller.

Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published
Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published

This is why we need mental health first aiders at work in 2019

300,000 people with long-term mental health problems lose their jobs every year.

latoya shauntay snell
Long Reads

“Why I stopped losing weight to please other people, and learned to love my strength”

“As a plus-size woman in the gym, people automatically assume that I’m there for weight loss. I’m not.”

Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published
lauren mahon girlvscancer
Long Reads

Breast cancer UK: “how to cope with the loneliness of being diagnosed with breast cancer”

Cancer survivor and podcast host Lauren Mahon shares her advice for tackling the isolation that can come hand-in-hand with a cancer diagnosis.

Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published
climate change strike
Long Reads

Teen girls around the world explain why they are demanding action on climate change

As Edinburgh students are given a day off school to take part in climate change strikes, 7 girls explain why they strike.

Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published
Long Reads

Beautiful portraits of centenarians show what joy looks like around the world

Need an instant happiness boost? These touching images are guaranteed to make you smile.

Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published
personal trainer
Long Reads

“A message to everyone who said I was ‘too tubby’ to be a personal trainer”

“I spent five months unemployed because I kept getting told that I didn’t look right for various jobs”

Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published
drinking alcohol
Life

Day drinking: why drinking alcohol in the day seems to affect us more

An expert has the answer...

Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published
Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published

Get reading: read the first 2 chapters of Ask Again, Yes, summer’s biggest novel

Looking for your next beach read? We’ve got you covered.

Long Reads

16 women on why self-care is so important to them

It's about so much more than bubble baths

Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published
burnout
Careers

Burnout: why we should resist the UK’s toxic culture of overtime to prevent exhaustion

Last year, we worked a collective £32 billion of unpaid overtime. It’s time to draw a line, says Stylist’s Sarah Biddlecombe.

Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published
Long Reads

Feeling lonely? Here’s how to beat the 4 types of loneliness

Loneliness is an issue across the whole of the UK. Here, a psychologist offers her advice for overcoming these feelings.

Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published
sustainable tampons
Life

6 of the best eco-friendly sanitary brands you need to know about

27,938 used tampons and applicators are found on the world’s beaches every single day. Let’s change that.

Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published
birthstrike not having children
Long Reads

Meet the woman not having children because of climate change

Emma Olliff explains how her concern about humans' environmental impact led her to decide against having children

Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published
Books

27 of the most comforting books to stop you feeling lonely

“This is the equivalent of a cosy light in the window welcoming me in.”

Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published
Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published

A sleep expert explains when to drink caffeine and why not to sleep with your phone in the bedroom

Sleep psychologist Hope Bastine gives her top tips.

Life

What happens during a smear test? A doctor answers our questions

This Cervical Screening Awareness Week, here's everything you need to know about smear tests.

Posted by
Sarah Biddlecombe
Published