Fashion

The in crowd: delve into the new season’s most eclectic trends

Posted by
Lucy Reber
Published
backgroundLayer 1
Add this article to your list of favourites

From Eighties cocktail dressing to menswear fabrics, it’s an eclectic season. We’ve distilled the trends to bring you the pieces you need to update your style right now. Scroll through the gallery below to shop our favourite pieces.

  • 80s revival

    The autumn catwalks were awash with Eighties glamour: bold prints, gold lamé and a touch of lace all featured. Pair statement pieces with casual separates for the most contemporary take on the trend.

    Dress, £24.99, New Look (newlook.com)

  • 80s revival

    Bag, £2,310, Louis Vuitton (louisvuitton.com)

  • Fabric clash

    Texture and print is key for a/w 2016. Mix brocade with embroidered denim or invest in a dress with contrasting printed panels.

    Dress, £625, Coach (coach.com)

  • Fabric clash

    Top, £130, Edit (selfridges.com)

  • Fabric clash

    Shoes, £495, Tabitha Simmons (tabithasimmons.com)

  • Fabric clash

    Coat, £95, River Island (riverisland.com)

  • Fabric clash

    Boots, £115, Dune (dune.com)

  • Fabric clash

    Jacket, £89, Sister Jane (sisterjane.com)

  • Fabric clash

    Bag, £1,045, Christian Louboutin (christianlouboutin.com)

  • In the knit

    Top-to-toe knits are in for autumn. Keep your skirts slimline, your trousers loose and your jumpers chunky. Knitted trainers optional

    Jumper, £595, Etro at Matches Fashion (matchesfashion.com)

  • In the knit

    Headband, £90, Markus Lupfer (markuslupfer.com)

  • In the knit

    Jumper, £55, Dickins & Jones at House of Fraser (houseoffraser.co.uk)

  • In the knit

    Skirt, £70, Modern Rarity at John Lewis (johnlewis.com)

  • In the knit

    Shoes, £245, Joshua Sanders (matchesfashion.com)

  • In the knit

    Dress, £379, Dagmar (houseofdagmar.com)

  • In the knit

    Trousers, £110, Jigsaw (jigsaw-online.com)

  • Menswear fabric

    Add a masculine edge to your look with houndstooth, Prince of Wales checks and pyjama stripes covering everything from boots to coats this autumn. Pair with boyish accessories 

    Coat, £199, Boden (boden.co.uk)

  • Menswear fabrics

    Watch, £760, Longines at Selfridges (selfridges.com)

  • Easy rider

    Bold colour blocks, leather jackets and slogan T-shirts are all essential motocross kit. Wear all together or mix with slick tailoring for an unexpected take on the look

    Bracelet, £75, Links Of London (linksoflondon.com)

  • Easy rider

    Boots, £100, Vagabond (vagabond.com)

  • Easy rider

    Top, £1,150, Acne (acnestudios.com)

  • Easy rider

    Shirt, £70, Être Cecile (etrececile.com)

  • Easy rider

    Jacket, £529, Maje (maje.com)

  • Easy rider

    Ring, £135, Thomas Sabo (thomassabo.com)

  • Easy rider

    Top, £30, Wallis (wallis.co.uk)

  • The spice of life

    Wear this season’s rich and dusty shades of ginger, cinnamon and turmeric tonally as a head-to-toe look or pair with neutral shades of blush, olive and navy

    Coat, £89, Warehouse (warehouse.co.uk)

  • The spice of life

    Dress, £129, Therapy London at House of Fraser (houseoffraser.co.uk)

  • Velvet goldmine

    Undoubtedly the fabric of the moment, velvet was used to great effect on the catwalks. No longer to be kept for evening, invest in a full suit and wear with trainers for day

    Top, £202, Pinko (pinko.com)

  • Velvet goldmine

    Shoes, £575, Jimmy Choo (net-a-porter.com)

  • Velvet goldmine

    Skirt, £420, Diesel Black Gold (diesel.com)

  • Velvet goldmine

    Bag, £690, 3.1 Phillip Lim (harrods.com)

  • Velvet goldmine

    Jacket, £79, Per Una at Marks & Spencer (marksandspencer.com)