Shopping Galleries

Less is more: how to style a sleeveless jacket this spring

Published

For maximal style impact this season, look no further than the sleeveless jacket; reinventing the coat from a simple cover-up to an ingenious layering tool

Fashion: Fiona Downie

Still-life photography: nohalidedigital.com

To read this week's issue of Stylist, download from app.stylist.co.uk

  • Double up

    Not ready to part with your cosy parka? Reinvent it with a contrasting, rigid jacket. Structured stiff fabrics work best when layering over thick, padded coats. 

    Sleeveless jacket, £55, River Island (riverisland.com); parka, £79, Very (very.co.uk); top, £135, J Brand (jbrandjeans.com); trousers, £115, Won Hundred (wonhundred.com); bag, £20, Monki (monki.com); shoes, £140, KG Kurt Geiger (kurtgeiger.com)

  • Major impact

    The addition of a sleeveless jacket over a suit breathes new life into office staples. Longer lengths and flowing fabrics work well with tailoring while clashing prints give a confident finishing touch.

    Sleeveless jacket, £250, Jaeger (jaeger.co.uk); jacket, £39.99, and trousers, £69.99, both Mango (shop.mango.com); bag, £22.99, New Look (newlook.com); shoes, £79.95, Moda in Pelle (modainpelle.com)

  • Pick ’n’ mix

    When spring finally arrives, ditch your coat, switch to a sleeveless jacket and simultaneously show off your most stylish knits. It’s a transitional season win-win. Mix textures and fabrics for an eclectic day look. 

    Sleeveless jacket, £900, Acne Studios (acnestudios.com); jumper, £18, Pretty Little Thing (prettylittlething.com); blouse, £125, Reiss (reiss.com); dress, £140, French Connection (frenchconnection.com); bag, £59, Dune (dunelondon.com); shoes, £55, Schuh (schuh.co.uk)

  • The tux 2.0

    Elevate your evening look with a sleeveless tux. Keep colours simple then finish with eye-catching colour-pop or metallic accessories for a contemporary twist on a classic style. 

    Sleeveless jacket, £180, Whistles (johnlewis.com); top, £59, Coast (coast-stores.com); trousers, £79, Cos (cosstores.com); bag, £110, Uterqüe (uterque.com); shoes, £199, Kurt Geiger (kurtgeiger.com)

  • Dress down

    If wearing double denim feels too full on, a textured sleeveless jacket will break up the overall effect. Try on-trend shearling to soften the impact of the total look. 

    Sleeveless jacket, £598, Iris and Ink (theoutnet.com); denim jacket, £54.95, Gap (gap.co.uk); dungarees, £39.99, Zara (zara.com); shirt, £30, Miss Selfridge (missselfridge.com); bag, £32, Asos (asos.com); shoes, £28, Next (next.co.uk)

  • Get sporty

    There is no doubt that a sporty ribbed dress is the skinny knit of the season: take yours to a new level by adding a sleek sleeveless tunic. Cinch with a belt for a strong silhouette. 

    Tunic, £280, 2ndDay (day.dk); dress, £39.50, M&S (marksandspencer.com); roll neck, £25, Oasis (oasis-stores.com); bag, £295, LK Bennett (lkbennett.com); trainers, £29.99, H&M (hm.com)

Share this article

Author

Related Posts