Shopping Galleries

From retro florals to tailored khaki: the five trends you need to liven up your dress sense this season

Posted by
The Stylist web team
Published

It’s a brave new world out there. As fashion takes a leap into a flurry of trends, we’ve picked the five that will give new-season edge to your wardrobe in an instant

Fashion: Lucy Reber

Main image: Chloé s/s 2017

  • Retro floral revival

    Big, bold and from a bygone era, if it doesn’t remind you of your granny’s wallpaper, don’t wear it

    Image: Chloe

  • Retro floral revival

    Shirt, £32, Oasis (oasis-stores.com)

  • Retro floral revival

    Earrings, £80, Kate Spade New York (katespade.co.uk)

  • Retro floral revival

    Trousers, £65, & Other Stories (stories.com)

  • Retro floral revival

    Bag, £99, Kurt Geiger London (kurtgeiger.com)

  • Retro floral revival

    Jumpsuit, £249, Whistles (whistles.com)

  • Retro floral revival

    Trousers, £95, G-Star RAW ElwoodX25 (g-star.com)

  • Retro floral revival

    Loafers, £180, Essentiel (essentiel-antwerp.com)

  • Retro floral revival

    Boots, £495, Tabitha Simmons (tabithasimmons.com)

  • Crisp cotton rules

    Shirting influences everything, from neat collars on dresses to smart pinstripe fabrics

    Image: Céline

  • Crisp cotton rules

    Shirt, £170, Ba&Sh (ba-sh.com)

  • Crisp cotton rules

    Skirt, £38, River Island (riverisland.com)

  • Crisp cotton rules

    Shoes, £475, Sergio Rossi (sergiorossi.com)

  • Sport goes glam

    Athleisure reaches high voltage with body-con cuts, ruched detailing and high-shine metallics

    Image: Fendi

  • Sport goes glam

    Boots, £110, Aldo (aldoshoes.com)

  • Sport goes glam

    Crop top, £29, Guess Activewear (guess.eu)

  • Sport goes glam

    Dress, £49, Topshop (topshop.com)

  • Sport goes glam

    Parka, £275, Ikks (ikks.com)

  • Sport goes glam

    Jacket, £45, Asos (asos.com)

  • Sport goes glam

    Bag, £19.99, H&M (hm.com)

  • Sport goes glam

    Top, £100, Intropia (intropia.com)

  • Sport goes glam

    Sunglasses, £12, Accessorize (accessorize.com)

  • Khaki marches on...

    ...But the new wave is neatly tailored – team with sandy tones for a grown-up vibe

    Image: Hermès

  • Khaki marches on

    Shoes, £335, Russell & Bromley (russellandbromley.co.uk)

  • Khaki marches on

    Blouse, £59.99, Mango (mango.com)

  • Khaki marches on

    Jumpsuit, £760, Tibi (net-a-porter.com)

  • Khaki marches on

    Shirt dress, £80, French Connection (frenchconnection.com)

  • Khaki marches on

    Dress, £119, Hobbs (hobbs.co.uk)

  • Khaki marches on

    Bag, £460, Jérôme Dreyfus (jerome-dreyfuss.com)

  • Khaki marches on

    Earrings, £60, Pandora (pandora.net)

  • Khaki marches on

    Shoes, £625, Fendi (fendi.com)

  • Cocktail hour drama

    Lamé, ruffles and metallic fabrics abound here. Give a nod with a dramatically oversized earring

    Image: Saint Laurent

  • Cocktail hour drama

    Blouse, £270, Dodo Bar Or

  • Cocktail hour drama

    Shoes, £445, Stella McCartney (stellamccartney.com)

  • Cocktail hour drama

    Belt, £60, Reiss (reiss.com)

  • Cocktail hour drama

    Shirt, £90, Ganni (ganni.com)

  • Cocktail hour drama

    Skirt, £170, Maje (maje.com)