Britain breaks record with the most LGBTQ MPs ever

Posted by
Jasmine Andersson
backgroundLayer 1
Add this article to your list of favourites

Whether last night’s result had you crying into your wine glass or singing bangers down the street, the evening did boast at least one outcome we can all get behind.

Britain now has more LGBTQ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Queer) MPs than any other nation in the world.

Election expert Professor Andrew Reynolds said that Britain’s 45 LGBTQ MPs is the highest number of any parliament on the globe, after an additional eight people from the queer community also won their seats.

Both the Labour and Conservative party have 19 LGBTQ MPs a piece, while the SNP boast another seven members of parliament from the LGBTQ community, including the youngest MP in the House of Commons, Mhairi Black.

And alongside the 51 BME MPs that were elected yesterday, including the first Sikh member of parliament, Preet Gill, we now have the most diverse British parliament on record. 

“The 2017 parliament will be the most diverse ever, with 10 new ethnic minority MPs taking the total of non-white parliamentarians to 51,” said Sunder Katwala, the director of British Future.

“Thirty years on, that tells a positive story about integration since the breakthrough election of 1987.”

But while the result is definitely something to celebrate, the campaign to ensure equal representation for those of all races, ages, gender identities and sexualities still has a way to go.

As it stands, we still don’t have one LGBTQ member of Parliament that is a person of colour, and the UK have not yet elected a trans MP.

Labour candidate Sophie Cook, who hoped to become Britain’s first ever trans MP, came second place to the Conservatives’ Tim Loughton in a battle for a seat in East Worthing and Shoreham.

Although she gained 11,145 more votes than the 2015 candidate, she lost out on the seat by 5,106 votes.

The full list of the LGBTQ candidates can be viewed below:

Conservative (19)
Stuart Andrew – Pudsey
Crispin Blunt – Reigate
Nick Boles – Grantham & Stamford
Conor Burns – Bournemouth West
Alan Duncan – Rutland & Melton
Nigel Evans – Ribble Valley
Mike Freer – Finchley & Golders Green
Nick Gibb – Bognor Regis & Littlehampton
Justine Greening – Putney
Nick Herbert – Arundel & South Down
Margot James – Stourbridge
Daniel Kawczynski – Shrewsbury & Atcham
Mark Menzies – Fylde
Damien Moore* – Southport
David Mundell – Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale & Tweeddale
Lee Rowley* – Derbyshire North East
Iain Stewart – Milton Keynes South
Ross Thomson* – Aberdeen South
William Wragg – Hazel Grove

Labour (19)
Angela Eagle – Wallasey
Clive Betts – Sheffield South East
Nick Brown – Newcastle upon Tyne East
Ben Bradshaw – Exeter
Chris Bryant – Rhondda
Dan Carden* – Liverpool Walton
Stephen Doughty – Cardiff South & Penarth
Nia Griffith – Llanelli
Gerald Jones – Merthyr Tydfil & Rhymney
Gerard Killen* – Rutherglen & Hamiton West
Peter Kyle – Hove
Gordon Marsden – Blackpool South
Sandy Martin* – Ipswich
Luke Pollard* – Plymouth, Sutton
Steve Reed – Croydon North
Lloyd Russell-Moyle* – Brighton Kemptown
Cat Smith – Lancaster & Fleetwood
Wes Streeting – Ilford North
Stephen Twigg – Liverpool West Derby

Scottish National Party (7)
Hannah Bardell – Livingston
Mhairi Black – Paisley & Renfrewshire South
Joanna Cherry – Edinburgh South West
Angela Crawley – Lanark & Hamilton East
Martin Docherty – West Dunbartonshire
Stuart McDonald – Cumbernauld, Kilsyth & Kirkintilloch
Stewart McDonald – Glasgow South

Photos: Rex Features


Share this article


Jasmine Andersson

When she isn't talking about her emotional attachment to meal deals or serenading unfortunate individuals with David Bowie power solos in karaoke booths, Jasmine writes about gender, politics and culture as a freelance journalist. She wastes her days tweeting @the__chez