Any fans of Irish liqueur will no doubt utter an involuntary moan of pleasure at the very word ‘Baileys’. Considered by many to be cream of the crop (ha!), this chocolatey liqueur tastes more like a dessert than an alcoholic beverage – which is, of course, one of the reasons why we like it so very much.
The only problem, of course, is that many people can’t join in with all of the indulgent boozy fun due to a dairy or gluten intolerance or vegan lifestyle.
Which is why everyone is so excited that a new and all-inclusive version of the drink has been added to the range.
That’s right: Baileys is now officially available in non-dairy-non-gluten-vegan-friendly form.
Vegan-friendly Baileys, aka Baileys Almande, is finally on sale in the UK after hitting shelves in America back in March.
Announcing the news via a Facebook post, Whole Foods Market UK describes the beverage as a blend of “luscious, nutty flavours of sweet almond oil & almond essence (extracted from crushed almonds) with a touch of real vanilla”.
And, according to Metro, the full ingredient break-down includes, almond milk, almond essence, cane sugar, purified water and real vanilla – with some alcohol thrown in there, too.
Fans have since taken to social media to celebrate the launch, with one tweeting: “Vegan Baileys???? Oh happy days!”.
Another dairy-free fan even did a little jig in celebration, writing: “*Happy Dance* The only dairy I've actually missed!!”.
baileys is the sole reason i'm not vegan but gUess whAt they've made an almond milk version obstacles schmobstacles!!— tyla (@cupofty) August 20, 2017
At least 542,000 people in Britain are now following a vegan diet and never consume any animal products including meat, fish, milk, cheese, eggs and honey. So we imagine that the new dairy-free Baileys, released just in time for all of that heady Christmassy fun, is going to go down an absolute storm.