Ryanair has cancelled another 18,000 flights - but is yours on the list?

Posted by
Susan Devaney
backgroundLayer 1
Add this article to your list of favourites

Just last week, Ryanair announced they were cancelling up to 50 flights per day for the next six weeks (until the end of October 2017).

Now, though, the airline has increased the travel disruption by announcing they’re cancelling a further 18,000 flights between this November and March 2018, according to the BBC.

34 routes will be suspended (see full list below), including London to Edinburgh and Glasgow, Gatwick to Belfast and Newcastle to Faro

Nearly half a million passengers will be affected and they should have already received the bad news via email, according to The Guardian.

For each of those affected, a £35 (40 euros) travel voucher for a one-way trip for 80 euros (£70) for a return flight on an alternative Ryanair route between October and March should have been issued.

Ryanair’s chief executive, Michael O’Learly, was keen to highlight that there would be no more cancelled flights added to the list.

“From today (Wednesday 27 September), there will be no more rostering-related flight cancellations this winter or in summer 2018,” he said, according to the BBC.

“Slower growth this winter will create lots of spare aircraft and crews, which will allow us to manage the exceptional volumes of annual leave we committed to delivering in the nine months to December 2017.”

Here’s a full list of all of the further affected flight routes, according to Business Insider UK:

1. Bucharest – Palermo
2. Chania – Athens
3. Chania – Pafos
4. Chania – Thessaloniki
5. Cologne – Berlin (SXF)
6. Edinburgh – Szczecin
7. Glasgow – Las Palmas
8. Hamburg – Edinburgh
9. Hamburg – Katowice
10. Hamburg – Oslo (TRF)
11. Hamburg – Thessaloniki
12. Hamburg – Venice (TSF)
13. London (LGW) – Belfast
14. London (STN) – Edinburgh
15. London (STN) – Glasgow
16. Newcastle – Faro

17. Newcastle – Gdansk
18. Sofia – Castellon
19. Sofia – Memmingen
20. Sofia – Pisa
21. Sofia – Stockholm (NYO)
22. Sofia – Venice (TSF)
23. Thessaloniki – Bratislava
24. Thessaloniki – Paris BVA
25. Thessaloniki – Warsaw (WMI)
26. Trapani – Baden Baden
27. Trapani – Frankfurt (HHN)
28. Trapani – Genoa
29. Trapani – Krakow
30. Trapani – Parma
31. Trapani – Rome FIU
32. Trapani – Trieste
33. Wroclaw – Warsaw
34. Gdansk – Warsaw

You can find out if you’ve been affected on Ryanair’s website.

Images: Jordan Sanchez


Share this article


Susan Devaney

Susan Devaney is a digital journalist for, writing about fashion, beauty, travel, feminism, and everything else in-between.