Adele's new album can only go so far towards healing the pain of a break-up, especially if you're constantly faced with updates about your ex's new life on Facebook.
In a bid to make amends for inextricably intertwining lives in cyberspace - and to make sure people aren't too heartbroken to keep logging in - the social network is testing a tool that lets the newly single limit their ex's posts, without resorting to the petty move of unfriending or blocking them.
Users already have the option to limit the posts they see from certain people, but the new function will go further by removing your name from tags in your ex's photos and will even stop their name popping up as a suggestion when you write a message.
It is designed to automatically kick in when someone changes their status to “no longer in a relationship”.
The tool is being tested on mobile devices in the US before the network decides whether to roll it out universally.
“This work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives,” says Facebook product manager Kelly Winters in a blog post.
What do you think of the new tool? Let us know on - you guessed it - Facebook.