Baileys women's prize for fiction: panel announced

Posted by
Stylist Team
backgroundLayer 1
Add this article to your list of favourites

We love it when brilliant female writers are given the recognition they deserve, which is why we're always excited when the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction (previously known as the Orange Women's Prize for Fiction) comes around.

Every year, a group of five women are selected to judge the prize. This year, there is a phenomenal panel involved, which consists of Classics professor Mary Beard, writer Denise Mina, Caitlin Moran and BBC broadcaster and journalist, Sophie Raworth and it will be chaired by former Managing Director of Penguin Books UK and Chief Executive of the Girls’ Day School Trust, Helen Fraser.

Now in its nineteenth year, the award was set up to celebrate excellence and originality in writing by women throughout the world. To celebrate the first year of the Baileys sponsorship of the Women’s Prize for Fiction, Baileys has commissioned acclaimed portrait photographer, Suki Dhanda, to photograph the 2014 judging panel (pictured).

The judges between them will be reading more than 150 books over the next six months as they look to crown the next winner, who will be given a cheque for £30,000 and a limited edition bronze figurine known as a ‘Bessie’, created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven.

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2014 will be awarded on June 4th 2014 at the Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre, London.